Review: Forloren Espresso (Copenhagen)

Forloren shopfrontStore Kongensgade 32, 1264 Copenhagen, Denmark

Website | Facebook | Instagram

Overview

I’d been meaning to do another overseas review for a while, as it’s been almost a year since I discovered TeaKoff in Antwerp. Finding a great coffee stop while on holiday is a real treat for me.

Situated in the centre of beautiful Copenhagen, Forloren Espresso is a gorgeous little coffee shop – not a café (their words) – that predominantly serves high quality coffee. I was visiting Copenhagen for a long weekend recently as I was running the marathon there. As a result, I wasn’t looking for, or expecting to find a decent coffee shop in such a short space of time.

But on day two, my partner found Forloren on his way to visit a museum, and even posted on Facebook about it (which never happens) because he was so impressed. When I was finished at the marathon expo, I popped along myself, and ended up staying for not one, but two flat whites.

Location/premises

The coffee shop is just a few minutes’ walk from Kongens Nytorv Metro station on one of the roads leading to the castle. The sign outside makes it look less classy than it is, and I’d probably have bypassed it had it not been recommended.

The café is quite small and can seat about 15 people at once, and there is no room for buggies or push chairs. They also admit that it isn’t accessible for wheelchair users – which isn’t ideal, but at least they’re transparent about that.

They have a “Conversation and Reading corner” where mobile phone and laptop use is not permitted, which I think is a nice idea, but Wi-Fi is available to use in the rest of the premises.

IMG_0693

The service

Like the wheelchair access thing, they’re also up front about waiting times:

“…please be aware that this is not a “fast food” coffee shop, each cup is made with the same care. While there may be no line at the counter, we may be busy fulfilling orders already placed by seated customers. If you are in a hurry, please ask and we will give you an estimate on the current waiting time.”

They also have this as a sign on the counter, which I didn’t see, so was starting to get fidgety after ten minutes without my flat white. When it did arrive, with my friend’s Americano, my friend asked for a splash of milk, which never came.

We were in no rush, but it still felt just a bit too slow for my liking. I ordered a second flat white to take away, which didn’t take quite as long.

The coffeeIMG_0712

Despite the long wait times, one could argue it’s worth it. The coffee is amazing, and they pride themselves on buying their coffee from roasters who have proven their excellence on the world stage. When I was there, the beans on offer were from the UK (Has Bean) and Denmark (La Cabra).

The cost of a flat white is 37DKK, which is about £4.35 (based on exchange rate on 31/05/17), which is obviously a lot higher than anything in the UK. But everything in Denmark is more expensive, and this didn’t feel like a lot to pay given how great it was.

The verdict

With a great location but small premises, and long wait times but great coffee, it’s tricky to give a reflective (and fair) score of this café. But fundamentally, the reason I went there was for an excellent cup of coffee, and that is what I got. I’d definitely revisit the next time I am in Copenhagen.

Coffee: 9/10

Service: 7/10

Location: 9/10

Price: 7/10

Overall score: 80%

Leave a Reply

